Reference/Local History Databases

Quick links to popular databases

Reference Databases

FirstSearch Onsite access only. Search for and request items for Interlibrary Loan.
Inspire Indiana's Virtual Library. Search for academic and information resources.
Morningstar Onsite access only. Monringstar Investment Research Center.

Local History and Genealogy Databases

The library has its own databases for the local history and genealogy needs of its patrons and continues to develop these tools (listed below). In addition to the CDPL databases, we subscribe to two other databases. Note: Much information is also available on the Montgomery County GenWeb site.

Database usage statistics: 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

Subscription Databases
Ancestry Library Onsite access only. Note: In 1850 the abbreviation for Indiana was IA. Use "Iowa" in your census search drop-down list to retrieve Indiana results (which may have been placed in Iowa).
Heritage Quest Online Onsite access only. Search Census records, books, and serials.
Heritage Quest Online Offsite access for CDPL card holders only. Search Census records, books, and serials.
Catalog of Items
Local History Collection Search the entire Local History collection for both catalogued and uncatalogued items in our three locations: 2nd floor, archives, basement. (7,468 records)
Cemeteries
Cemeteries of Montgomery County Contains readings of county tombstones dating from the early 1800s to 1981. It also references the same readings found in our CDPL and DAR cemetery record books (which contain no further information). Resource: Cemetery Locator (find a Montgomery County cemetery) (47,061 records)
Crawfordsville Masonic Cemetery records Leads to abstracts of burial permits, cash receipts, foundation orders, miscellaneous papers, etc. from 1921-1982. This cemetery is now Oak Hill Grant Avenue Cemetery. (5,836 records)
Waynetown Masonic Cemetery Contains records of 6,125 burials in this cemetery from 1862-2010. It also includes links to more than 4,000 obituaries and more than 1,000 burial/transit permits. (6,166 records)
Photographs and Manuscripts
Images Leads to images (.jpg and .pdf) of our postcards, photos, letters, documents, etc. that we have scanned. It also references other images that we have not yet scanned but hold in storage. (45,129 records)
Sheet music scores A compilation of sheet music or scores including patriotic and novelty songs from the early 1900s, soundtrack songs from popular films of the 1930s and 1940s, holiday carols from around the world, and an assortment of popular hits from the Twentieth Century. (2,453 records)
Three Years in the Saddle A digitized diary of Henry Campbell's Journal of Events, Facts, and Incidents Connected with the 18th Indiana Battery (Civil War).
Account book of a general store (Burk, M. L.) in Dunlapsville, Union County Images of an account book (.pdf) covering 1837-1839.
Newspaper Sources (What newspapers do we have?)
Vital Statistics An index to the births, marriages, deaths, and obituaries mentioned in local newspapers from 1834 to present day. Other items indexed include reunions, anniversaries, birthday notices, and special information. The library has an extensive collection of Montgomery County publications; however, not all publications have been indexed. You can consult the microfilm of papers on site. (317,965 records)
Events An index of events mentioned in local newspapers. Examples of events include accidents, business openings, crimes, fires, etc. (mainly 1973-77, 1990, 1998-present). You can consult the microfilm of papers on site. (108,942 records)
Wingate News Vital Statistics An index to the newpaper (.pdf) from 1943-1952, 1964-1968. You can consult the microfilm of this paper on site.
Wingate News Events An index to the newpaper (.pdf) from 1943-1947, 1964-1968. You can consult the microfilm of this paper on site.
Google News Archives Google News has a small selection of Crawfordsville papers online.
Veterans
Veterans This database contains information on more than 6,000 county veterans associated with Montgomery County, from the Revolutionary War to present day. (6,018 records)
Confederate Veterans buried in Montgomery County A listing of 64 Confederate veterans buried in Montgomery County with unit and cemetery information (.pdf) compiled by Bill Boone.
Legal Records
Marriage Affidavits, Records, and Licenses Leads to images (.pdf) of the actual pages for affidavits and records from 1883-2001. Licenses are not yet digitized. (118,017 records)
Guardian's Docket Indexed by names of decedent, guardian, heirs, and sureties. Leads to images (.pdf) of the actual pages, covering 1825-1874. (7,377 records)
Register of Negroes and Mulattoes Leads to images (.pdf) of the actual pages, covering 1851-1853. All Negroes and mulattoes who were inhabitants of the state of Indiana prior to November 1, 1851 and entitled to reside in the state were required to appear before the clerk of the Circuit Court for registry in 1853. (123 records)
Index to Probate Records of Montgomery County An index to the probate records (.pdf) from 1822-1940. Indexed by names of decedents and estate administrators. Volume and page numbers refer to the original ledgers. The library owns microfilm copies of the ledgers, which may be consulted on site. (ORDER FORM)
Schools
Yearbooks An index to many annuals of Montgomery County schools from 1902-present. This database covers the yearbooks that we possess, which you can consult on site. (290,389 records)
Central School and Crawfordsville High School Faculty/Staff Index An index to faculty/staff (.pdf) from 1876-2001.
Teachers: Examinations and Contracts Leads to images (.pdf) of the documents covering 1881-1912. (3,623 records)
Maps and Plats
Atlas of Montgomery County: 1878 Images of the complete atlas (.pdf)
Illustrated Historical Atlas of the State of Indiana (1876) Leads to maps of not just Indiana counties and towns, but also to national maps and statistics from the 1870 United States Census.
Sanborn map of Crawfordsville, 1925 Single image of the February 1925 Sanborn insurance of Crawfordsville, Indiana. Separate detailed sections of the map are available in Local History ready reference (oversize): RL 912.77248 San
Research Aids
Index to Genealogy Vertical File (patron research) & Selected Books
An index of research (family group charts, pedigree charts, correspondence, etc.) contributed by patrons.
Montgomery County Magazine An index to historical articles in the magazine published by the Journal Review between 1976-2000. You can consult the magazine's issues on site.
Index of Persons & Organizations An index to Montgomery County people and organizations (businesses, clubs, etc.) mentioned in various publications.
Religious
Hawcreek Church of God Records Leads to images (.pdf) of the records between 1839-1853. (802 records)