Preview Shelf: August 2017

August 31, 2017

By Jessica Mondy, Reference & Local History Assistant

Who doesn’t love movies? Everyone has their favorite stars, directors, classic films, and movie genres. And of course, the movie industry has well supported all these varying interests for decades. At CDPL, we have a variety of nonfiction books that dig into what makes the movie industry the way it is. We currently have several titles on our new shelf that cover a wide range of interests. These four titles, in addition to the many movie-themed books we already own, are fascinating ways to learn a little more about an industry we all love.

The Art of Rogue One by Josh Kushins
Few movie franchises have achieved the same level of success as Star Wars. In 2016, the brains behind the space opera created an anthology film, titled Star Wars: Rogue One. The Art of Rogue One is a beautifully illustrated book showcasing how the creators of Rogue One designed the movie’s stunning costumes, settings, and characters. Anyone interested in learning about movie costuming, set design, or Rogue One in particular should come check out The Art of Rogue One (Call Number 791.43 Kus) on our new nonfiction bookshelf, located on the second floor of the library.

To Pixar and Beyond by Lawrence Levy
Have you ever wondered what determines a movie studio’s success or failure? In To Pixar and Beyond, Lawrence Levy tells the story of his work with Steve Jobs to make the animated film studio a success, against all odds. The book discusses the early days of Pixar and some of the struggles the company faced along the way. If you’re interested in learning about what allowed Pixar to succeed, when so many entertainment companies flounder, check out To Pixar and Beyond (Call Number 791.43 Lev) on the new nonfiction shelf today!

Opening Wednesday at a Theater or Drive-In Near You by Charles Taylor
In the 1970s, a great deal of classic movies were made. Some of these titles include The Godfather, Jaws, and Star Wars. But the 70s also had a wealth of B-movies that told the story of post-Vietnam America. Charles Taylor, a member of the National Society of Film Critics, has written Opening Wednesday at a Theater or Drive-In Near You to shed a light on some of these more forgotten movies of the 1970s. To learn more about lesser known movies of the 70s, check out Opening Wednesday (Call Number 791.43 Tay), available in the new nonfiction collection.

The Alfred Hitchcock Encyclopedia by Stephen Whitty
Despite the amount of time that has passed since his era in movies, Alfred Hitchcock remains one of the most well-recognized names in the world of directing. In The Alfred Hitchcock Encyclopedia, Stephen Whitty provides a detailed overview of the director’s body of work. The encyclopedia contains entries about actors, locations, allusions to other works, and a variety of other categories relating to Hitchcock’s films. If you’re interested in reading up on one of the most well known directors of all time, check out The Alfred Hitchcock Encyclopedia (Call Number 791.43 Whi) today!

If the book you’re looking for has already been borrowed, please ask for help placing a hold request. Library staff will let you know when the book is returned and is waiting for you, making your time at the library most efficient. Please stop by the library, or call library staff at 362-2242 for assistance.

 

August 24, 2017

By Kathy Brown, CMMC Business Manager

The Carnegie Museum of Montgomery County celebrated its 10-year anniversary this summer. A division of the Crawfordsville District Public Library, the museum is housed in Indiana’s first Carnegie Library building. The building opened in July 1902 and served as the library for over 100 years. In the fall of 2005, after the new library opened across the street, renovations began on the old building, turning it into a museum dedicated to our county’s history, culture, art and science.

Many changes took place while the building was being renovated. The Herman-Davis building addition next door was demolished (the lot is now the Chase Bank parking lot); stairs were added back onto the front of the Carnegie; the original vaulted ceiling was exposed upstairs and a new drop ceiling was installed downstairs; new heating, cooling, windows and accessible restrooms were all installed; and a new entrance lobby was constructed.

After 18 months of planning and renovations, the Carnegie Museum was dedicated in a ribbon-cutting ceremony on June 9, 2007.

In June 2007, we had high hopes for the future of the museum. And now, ten years later, we have realized those hopes and many more. Over the last ten years, the Carnegie Museum has:

  • Hosted 3 national traveling exhibits, 10 state traveling exhibits, and over 20 locally-curated exhibits,
  • Grown from 1300 visitors in 2007 to over 6400 visitors in 2016,
  • Increased our membership count to 282 active members,
  • Been awarded the 2008 Award of Merit for our Middle School Curator Project by the American Association for State and Local History,
  • Been awarded the 2015 Outstanding Historical Organization Award by the Indiana Historical Society, and
  • Become part of the ASTC Passport Program, which allows museum members to gain free admission to over 300 science centers and museums around the world.While the exhibits in the Carnegie Museum focus on our county’s history, we also appeal to guests outside our local area. While approximately 71% of our guests live in Montgomery County, an additional 14% are from elsewhere in Indiana, 12% visit from out of state, and 1% visit from other countries. We consistently hear positive feedback from our visitors, and we’re proud to promote Montgomery County to our out-of-town guests.If you would like to support our efforts to preserve our county’s history, we encourage you to become a member of the Friends of the Carnegie. Members receive a 10% discount on many items in our gift shop, our quarterly newsletter, and special invitations to our events. Members also gain access to the Association of Science & Technology Centers (ASTC) Passport Program.With the Passport Program, our members are able to gain free admission to more than 300 participating science centers and museums around the world. The program applies to participating centers outside a 90 mile radius of Crawfordsville (and your residence, if you are not local), but there are many wonderful facilities within a day’s drive (including the Field Museum of Natural History and the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago) and even more to explore as you venture further away. You can download a list of participating programs at the ASTC website: http://astc.org/passport/.To become a member of the Friends of the Carnegie, you can visit the museum, call us at 765-362-4618, or go to our website: www.cdpl.lib.in.us/services/carnegie. We are open year-round, Wednesday-Saturday, 10 am to 5 pm. We’d love to have you visit us.

August 17, 2017

By Dianne Combs

On Monday, August 21, many North Americans will get to witness a great sky event — a total eclipse of the sun!! Here in Montgomery County, we will see a partial eclipse. The eclipse will start about 12:57 p.m., maximum eclipse will be viewable about 2:24 p.m., and will be over about 3:48 p.m. At its maximum in our local area, the eclipse will be 91%. You may come to the pavilion near the parking lot of CDPL from 1-3 p.m. for safe viewing of the eclipse. A limited number of eclipse glasses will be available for use at the event.
Wouldn’t this be a great time to brush up on your astronomy skills? Introduce your children and grandchildren to skywatching? Walk down memory lane, remembering great American achievements in space? Many graduates of Crawfordsville High School were introduced to skywatching by their science teacher, Mr. Combs, and he has had many of them stop him to talk about how they enjoyed it then, and enjoy it now with their children. At CDPL, we have several books on space and astronomy that will engage and instruct you on the wonders of space.
“Starwatch: A Month by Month Guide to the Night Sky,” by Robin Kerrod is an easy to read and use book filled with illustrations and sky charts. It is meant to be shared by parents and children, or anyone with great interest but little general knowledge of the night sky. There is a general introduction to the moon, planets, and stars. Then the fun begins! Using the maps in the book and the removable “Planisphere” in the back pocket of the book, readers are able to decipher the sky and stars month by month.
For someone with a little more interest in constellations, there is “The New Patterns in the Sky: Myths and Legends of the Stars,” by Julius Staal. Inside are stories from around the world, along with the star diagrams necessary to find the constellation discussed.
“Your Ticket to the Universe: A Guide to Exploring The Cosmos,” by K. Arcand and M. Watzke is a beautiful book that is illustrated with photos taken with many different NASA instruments. “Wonders of the Universe,” by B.Cox and A.Cohen is another highly illustrated/diagrammed book for the interested learner.
If you grew up during the Apollo era, and want to relive all the space and moon shots, then “Apollo: The Epic Journey to the Moon, 1963-1972,” by D. Reynolds celebrates the 50th anniversary of the moon program. “Mask of the Sun: The Science, History, and Forgotten Lore of Eclipses,” by J. Dvorak is a bit more informative with stories about the history of watching the sun and moon.
“Hidden Figures,” a recently released movie about African-American women in the Apollo program, is available on DVD, audio ebook, and book at CDPL. “The Inexplicable Universe: Unsolved Mysteries,” is available in nonfiction DVD as a Great Courses package. Also, at CDPL, we still have a few postcard-sized safe eclipse projection viewers available at the circulation and reference desks, but you might have to hurry to get one — they’re going fast. Please stop in to the library soon to see all the materials, programs, and services we have to offer you!

 

August 10, 2017

Jodie WilsonBy Jodie Wilson

A local resident recently mentioned that, years ago, he had borrowed a book on dog training from the library. Unfortunately, however, it wasn’t one of those inspiring uses of library materials most librarians wish for. In this case, the dog ate the training book! Clearly, the training book failed to achieve the desired outcome for the borrower.

So, let’s hope that today’s library collection of materials will be much more successful for our patrons. I can personally report that one of our newest materials on dog training is very helpful, and also quite entertaining. “Welcome Home: Ultimate Guide for All Newly-Adopted Puppies & Dogs,” is a new DVD in the library collection. Paul Owens, the trainer on the video, also known as the “Original Dog Whisperer,” has been training dogs for over 40 years, and using positive training techniques for about 30 years.

A few weeks ago, we added a Beagle puppy to our family. We were certainly hoping to housebreak the little guy, but hadn’t really thought about training to commands. Then, we watched the video. Owens is a very appealing gentleman with great experience with dogs, and his results are swift. It is inspiring to watch his progress with untrained puppies, and it’s hard to resist his enthusiasm.

So after seeing his results, we felt inspired to try to train our dog beyond housebreaking. It has gone very smoothly for us. In just a few weeks, the commands our puppy follows have made our lives so much easier. He doesn’t jump anymore, and although the puppy-biting hasn’t improved quite yet, the sit-stay-come-lie down commands help so much in handling him. The small investment in time has been very worthwhile, and we’re looking forward to more training to come.

Although there are many You-tube videos by trainers online, I found some of them to be very irritating given their constant promotion of the company that pays the costs of the video creation. After watching about 4 short online videos on specific subjects, I decided to stick with the broader approach of dog training DVDs so I wouldn’t have to sit through all of the commercials. Thankfully, CDPL has a variety of helpful DVDs for dog training. The Natural: Dog Training Method with Joe Ardis Horn (DVD 636.7 Nat), Drool School Family Dog Training (DVD 636.7 Dro), and Dogs for Dummies (DVD 636.7 Dog) will also help you learn general information and how to successfully add a happy, healthy canine member to your family.

But there’s even more to find in the collection! “Dogs: Man’s Best Friend” collection by PBS Explorer (DVD 636.7 Dog) will reveal new information on 4 discs, including “How Smart are Animals?”, “Dogs Decoded,” “Through a Dog’s Eyes” and “Dogs and More Dogs.” CDPL also has the “Dog Whisperer” with Cesar Millan (DVD 636.7 Dog).

Turning to books, we have Zak George’s 2016 release, “Dog Training Revolution: The Complete Guide to Raising the Perfect Pet with Love,” (636.7 Geo) , “Team Dog: How to Train Your Dog the Navy Seal Way,” by Mike Ritland (636.7 Rit) and “How to Behave so Your Dog Behaves,” by Sophia Yin (636.7 Yin). Browsing the dog section of the library’s stacks will give you plenty of options for your reading, including materials on dog breeds, and even pet grooming.

Have questions about the library’s collection of pet-related materials? Please call us at 362-2242 ext. 117, or stop by CDPL soon! We’d be happy to help you. You will find the adult non-fiction collection, including pet information, on the library’s second floor.

 

 

August 3, 2017

By Dianne Combes

My husband and I are loyal Tom Clancy readers. Last week my husband, Bill, got home with the newest Clancy book, “Point of Contact,” and attacked it with his usual fervor. I snatched it away a couple of days later, and had a wonderful read. As any Clancy reader knows, Tom passed away in 2013. However, his series live on through the pens of several authors. The author of this work is Mike Maden, holder of a Ph.D in political science focused on conflict and technology in international relations.
In the beginning, Jack Ryan Jr., Ding, Dom, Adara, and Midas take part in an operation that will cause them to either “freeze or drown.” It is a dark and stormy night, so, of course, they are trying to assault an abandoned oil rig in the frozen North Sea in order to retrieve some kidnapped oil workers. Ryan and the team experience several misadventures, but eventually complete their mission.
The story carries on with Ryan and another Hendley Corporation man, Paul Brown, a forensic accountant, being sent to Singapore to do a thorough vetting of Dalfan Technologies before it is merged with an American defense contractor. This action is at the request of a U. S. Senator, Weston Rhodes. Brown has no idea that Ryan is not just a Hendley Corporation financial analyst, and Ryan works hard to keep it that way. Ryan also has no idea that Brown has secrets of his own. Neither know the dark secret behind Senator Rhodes’ request.
Before they fly to Singapore, Senator Rhodes hands Brown a USB drive with the instruction that he is to install it onto a computer that has access to the Dalfan mainframe, without anyone, not even his boss at Hendley Associates knowing that he is doing it. The Senator claims he has been tasked by the CIA to gather intel on Chinese involvement in the business. However, this lie will add to the drama of Brown’s mission as he continues to find ways to break into the Dalfan system.
Upon their arrival in Singapore, Ryan and Brown meet up with the children of the head of Dalfan Corporation, Lian and Yong Fairchild. Lian settles them into a house, and then takes them on a tour of the company headquarters. Both men are concerned about the tight security measures taken, for their own separate reasons. Brown tests out the system by trying to sneak in a fake USB drive. He quickly finds that he must find another way to sneak in Senator Rhodes’ USB drive.
Ryan and Brown find themselves in several “fixes” throughout this story. Ryan comes out nearly unscathed every time, while Brown fights to the end.
“Point of Contact” is available in regular and large print. Another Mike Maden title we have is “Blue Warrior.” CDPL also has many Tom Clancy novels, both in regular and large print, along with “Shadow Recruit” on DVD.